Full Circle – Ubuntu Magazine Issue #1 Review

This is my first review for anything that I can remember reviewing. I would like to start off by saying that this magazine really impressed me. It was developed by professional style FOSS Applications ( Free Open Source Software ). It was also developed in a computer with the following specs:

AMD Athlon XP 2600+
512 MB RAM
Nvidia Geforce 4MX ( 128 MB RAM )
Netgear wireless modem/router
Bluetooth Adaptor
hba1 = 110 Gigs
hdb1 = 55 Gigs
CD-RW & DVD-RW
2 12″ striplights. Blue/Yellow.

As you can see you can do professional work In computers that aren’t exactly 4 GIG of ram. I only have 1 gig of ram and I’m happy :).

For the articles in the magazine I have to admit, there is a lot of information and stuff out there that I didn’t know existed like the OLPC ( One Laptop Per Child ). The developers named this XO. There also building cheap laptop hardware for these XO operating systems, but this is perfect :).

Now something that caught my attention was the “Deluge Interview”. It didn’t just catch my attention because of the bittorrent client project. It was because I am a C++ Programmer and I still have a lot more to learn. So getting advice from someone that’s more experience then me will definitely help me out in the future.

The installation tutorial seems to be very good ( I only glanced at it ). Overall the Magazine has been developed in a very professional style and I hope they become more successful then what they are already becoming.

– Jonathan Vasquez

PS: Gotta go try the Deluge bittorrent client :).

Leave a Reply

